Reading and writing

We had our first book club meeting this week. It was thrilling to start something I’ve wanted to do for years. The only draw back is that my head is in the game of writing. Therefore, I found little time to read a 570 page novel!! I wasn’t done in time which in my opinion was a bit shameful. I suppose people do it all the time. I just didn’t want it to happen with my first. Oh well – bygones.

Reading helps your writing. This is exactly why I started this club with a friend. The reading was helpful in inspiring me to write and worked like a charm! The first book we did was The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski. I would like to do it justice with a proper review as soon as I get through the Nanowrimo month. This makes me think of my fellow blogger, Judith, who can do both simultaneously: read (4-5 books/week) and write 50,000 words in a month which is truly amazing to me. I enjoy her blog very much because it also stimulates ideas for what to read. You should drop in and check her blog out.

