Fresh start

National Novel Writing Month (NANOWRIMO) is officially over. I completed the goal of 50,000 words in 30 days. There were times I didn’t think I would make it. In the past I could find a solid groove with the writing. I had a time, a place, and a goal. It was about words and quantity. This year was vastly different. I had a story line. I wanted to respect that story. For me, while quantity was needed, I wanted to make sure it worked. In December usually I sigh relief from the 30 day challenge and then let the draft go untouched. Never to be looked at again. This year I’ve decided to continue on with it. I am going to pull this story apart and put it back together again. That is easier said then done. I know myself well and I will take a break or never look back. So I’ve put in place a writing buddy. We both committed to working together in 2012 to revise our stories. It’s on our calendars and that means accountability. Writing has allowed for me to explore things that I really want in life. What I’ve come to understand about myself is that I love to tell a good story.

2 thoughts on “Fresh start

  1. Congratulations, Susan! Not only did I not participate, I also did not meet my 30th Nov deadline for 2 papers I had wanted to write, and I declined a composition commission….. all because? a new job. Sigh!

Comments are closed.