A new decade has begun!

I made it!  I am so excited to start this part of my life.  I kicked it off with a new do that was really outside of my comfort zone.  I LOVE it!!!  I feel like a new person.  Though I will probably tone down the color in a few months.  For now I’m rocking this badass look.

My hair for 40!

My hair for 40!

I am simply amazed at all the wonderful things that have come into my life over the last decade.  If you had asked me when I turned thirty where I saw myself in 10 years I would have never guessed that I’d be with a different man [and married to him!], had his child and live in the Netherlands for 4 years.  At thirty I was camping out on the couch at my best buddy’s apartment after making a really poor decision in roommates, working in Alexandria, Virginia in a challenging position [which is to say low pay grade with no possible advancement opportunities] and dating the wrong guy who lived in Georgia.  At that time I was a “party girl”.  Whenever there was an opportunity to go out and have a few beers, I was there!  With two packs of cigarettes, thank you very much.  Yeah HEALTH was not on my list of priorities.  De-stressing, in any way possible, was very much a TOP priority.  I had good company in these choices.  It was a stressful time to live in the DC area.

For my thirtieth, my good buddy and I packed up and drove to the Bronx [New York City].  We stayed with a friend, Johnny 5, and hit the town.  It was my first visit to NYC and it was so much fun.  I love New York City because it never stops!  In usual fashion we found a watering hole and promptly set up shop for the day into the night.  We would visit this place on another trip later.  It was a great time with lots of fond memories.  The next few years to follow would be difficult and life altering.  I would move from DC back home to Michigan after a failed relationship and a fast paced downward spiral.  I needed to go home and figure things out.  It was a good decision.  It made me realize what was more important in life.  I learned that you can heal from some pretty seemingly devastating stuff and renew yourself.  I’m happy to have traveled that road.  It brought me here.  Had I stayed in DC and just kept going well, I am not sure who I would be right now.  I most certainly would not be a mother!

The most important thing is that I found my true self and I continue to grow from there.  I can start a whole new decade with a totally different outlook.  If now you were to ask me where I see myself in 10 years (oh lord that means 50), well, I probably will have a new hairdo, have a beautiful daughter who is 10 years old (whoa!), and fantastic husband of 10 years and uh,….well what else can there be?  Only time will tell.  For now, life looks pretty great.  Here’s to another 40!!  Hip hip HOERA!

2 thoughts on “A new decade has begun!

  1. WOW!! Love the new hairdo! it looks sooo good on you! You look a whole lot younger, in fact not a year older than thirty! And that suits: 40 is the new 30 after all!
    Great to read how you turned your life around for the better in your thirties. All in all it looks like it was a bumpy ride but you got there! And a husband and beautiful daughter to proof it!

    Looking back on my own 30’s, it was the time I probably learned life’s simple philosophies – live, love, laugh, learn:
    Live in the moment.
    Love what you have.
    Laugh with family and friends.
    Learn from mistakes.

    But since I became 40 there have been two extra L’s that have been especially important to me.

    Loyalty. The older I’ve become, the more I’ve relished my core group of friends and family. They say that at the end of your life, if you have two or maybe three great friends, you’ll be extremely lucky. Let’s hope I’ll have at least one.

    Liabilities. And by that, I mean getting rid of them! In the last 5 years I learned to focus on the positives and not be drained by the negatives, I tried to re-balance my life to juggle career and raising a family, and go easy on myself (not always possible…). I even got rid of some insecurities (yes, even men have those…)

    Of course, there are still more things I’d like to achieve. Explore the world. Write an award winning novel. Sing in a Rock ‘n Roll band. With that last thought in mind, I’ll leave you with the immortal words of Bryan Adams:

    I wanna be young the rest of my life
    Never say no, try anything twice
    Till the angels come and ask me to fly
    I’m gonna be 18 til I die

    WELCOME TO CLUB 40!

    Thomas

    • Thank you for sharing your wisdom and thoughts Thomas! Also glad to hear you like the hair. I hear the 40’s are a great time to be just who you want to be and realize a lot of stuff that was useless. I am already seeing some of that stuff come to light.

Comments are closed.