Three days until…novel writing MADNESS!

National Novel Writing Month 2013

It’s fastly approaching us that wonderful month of expanding our creative minds into a 50,000 word novel! Those of us who choose to participate in this adventurous challenge of wit and will, that is. Last year, it just wasn’t happening with a two month old baby.  But this year, my creative juices are bursting with several story ideas and I just can’t wait to get started. I’ve been reading pep talks from past Nanowrimo years.  I am seriously getting pumped.

What really got me excited was my writing group this past weekend. We had a Q&A session for those participating for the first time ever. Oh I love these discussions because I get to go back to when I started in 2009.  It was pretty frightening because I was living here in the Netherlands not knowing a single person outside of my husband.  It took a lot for me to go to the Kick Off party but I was so glad I did.  Many people were encouraging and spoke English (thank God). Everyone who takes this journey understands completely what you go through to get this out on paper (electronically).  You belong to a new community for these 30 days that is very empowering and International (maybe they should update the name to International novel-writing month).  You also get to hear from great authors who root and cheer for you along the way.  It’s a magical time. If you want to join there is still time (you can join mid-month also but I wouldn’t recommend it).  Take a gander at the website, www.nanowrimo.org and read what it’s all about then JOIN!

